What time is the Blood Moon total lunar eclipse on Nov. 8?

The last total lunar eclipse until 2025 will turn the moon blood-red on Tuesday, Nov. 8, but exactly when you should look up depends on where you are.

The eclipse, dubbed the Beaver Blood Moon lunar eclipse since it occurs during November’s Full Beaver Moon, will be visible across North America, the Pacific, Australia and Asia. During the eclipse, the full moon will pass through Earth’s shadow as it moves behind our planet with respect to the sun, giving it a spectacular bloody color in the process. You can watch the total lunar eclipse on Space.com for free, courtesy of several webcasts from observatories across the United States.

Tuesday’s “blood moon” eclipse will begin at 3:02 am EST (0803 GMT) when the moon begins to enter the outermost region of Earth’s shadow. You’ll have to adjust the time for your time zone (it begins at 12:02 am PST for observers on the US West Coast, for example). While this marks the official beginning of the lunar eclipse, it can be hard to see as the Earth’s penumbral shadow is very slight.

More: Lunar eclipse guide: When, where and how to see them

This NASA graphic shows the stages of the total lunar eclipse of Nov. 8, 2022 in Eastern time as the moon moves from right to left. (Image credit: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/Scientific Visualization Studio)

“The moon begins to dim, but the effect is quite subtle,” NASA wrote (opens in new tab) in an eclipse timeline.

More striking will be the partial eclipse phase, which will begin at 4:09 am EST (0909 GMT) and last just over an hour. This is when the moon enters the Earth’s umbra, or the darker portion of the Earth’s shadow. If you didn’t notice the penumbral eclipse, you should be able to see this with your unaided eye.

“To the naked eye, as the moon moves into the umbra, it looks like a bite is being taken out of the lunar disk,” NASA wrote in its guide.

Blood moon lunar eclipse timeline for Nov. 8, 2022
Millstone EST PST GMT
Penumbral eclipse begins 3:02 am 6:02 am 0802
Partial eclipse begins 4:09 am 1:09 am 0909
Totality begins 5:17 am 2:17 am 1017
Totality ends 6:42 am 3:42 am 1142
Partial eclipse ends Moon has set 4:49 am 1249
Penumbral eclipse ends Moon has set 5:50 am 1350
Source: NASA

A map showing where the November 8, 2022 lunar eclipse is visible. Contours mark the edge of the visibility region at eclipse contact times. (Image credit: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/Scientific Visualization Studio)

Super Flower Blood Moon Eclipse

The total lunar eclipse of Jan.  20-21, 2019, captured by astrophotographers Imelda Joson and Edwin Aguirre from the suburbs of Boston.  From left to right: The start of totality, at 11:41 pm EST on Jan.  20;  the middle of totality, at 12:12 am on Jan.  21;  and the end of totality at 12:44 am

(Image credit: Courtesy of Imelda Joson and Edwin Aguirre)

If you take a photo of the last total lunar eclipse until 2025 let us know! You can send images and comments to spacephotos@space.com.

The real show begins at totality, when the entire moon enters Earth’s umbra. On Nov. 8, this will occur at 5:17 am EST (1017 GMT) and will last about 85 minutes, ending at 6:42 am EST (1142 GMT)according to NASA.

“The moon will turn a coppery-red. Try binoculars or a telescope for a better view,” NASA wrote. “If you want to take a photo, use a camera on a tripod with exposures of at least several seconds.”

If you are hoping to photograph the moon, check out our guides on how to photograph a lunar eclipse and how to photograph the moon with a camera. You can prepare for your next moon observing session with our guides to the best cameras for astrophotography and the best lenses for astrophotography.

Once the total phase of the lunar eclipse ends, it will return a partial phase in a reverse of what we saw at the beginning of the eclipse. The partial phase will end at 7:49 am EST (4:49 am PST, 1249 GMT), but by this time the moon will have set for Eastern time zone observers. For those in locations where the moon is still visible, the final penumbral phase will last until 8:50 am EST (5:50 am PST, 1350 GMT).

And those are the times for the Nov. 8 total lunar eclipses! If you miss this lunar event, the next total lunar eclipse will occur on March 14, 2025, although there will be partial lunar eclipses in 2023 and 2024. Of course, there is a full moon every month, so you can practice your lunar photography and observing every year in advance of the next moon eclipse.

Editor’s Note: If you snap an amazing lunar eclipse photo and would like to share it with Space.com’s readers, send your photo(s), comments, and your name and location to spacephotos@space.com.

Email Tariq Malik at tmalik@space.com (opens in new tab) or follow him @tariqjmalik (opens in new tab). Follow us @Spacedotcom (opens in new tab), Facebook (opens in new tab) swear Instagram (opens in new tab).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *